Posted by: thughesa | June 17, 2010

Stress, Guilt, & Being a Mom

Today I thought I would write about stress, guilt and being a mom.

I have found as my children get older one of the biggest challenges becomes managing behaviour, theirs and mine. I find my own petulant feelings tend to bubble up as easily as theirs and find their own place in this tragic comedy of motherhood. Strangely I have found that to indulge these feelings and their resulting actions in my head has become my best coping mechanism. If I feel the urge to really lose it, I go through the motions and emotions in my head. I imagine what it would be like, how it would feel, the looks on my children’s faces, and what life would be like after mommy went and lost the plot.

Its never pretty.

Using mental imagery has helped me adopt better coping mechanisms for dealing with stress, meltdowns and tantrums, and the incessant badgering that seems to rear its ugly head once they turn four.

That said, I have lost it, yelled, given myself a time out, and that’s okay too. We are human after all. I find one of the biggest sources of stress is the perfect mommy who lives in my head, watching everything I do with disapproval. Did you wash that apple long enough. Shouldn’t they be wearing a hat? When are you going to get out and get some exercise? Are you spending enough quality time with your kids?

There are a lot of expectations on parents and it can be hard to reconcile with reality at times. So here is a shout out to all you mommies and daddies out there, you are doing a good job, don’t forget it!

How do you deal with stress and being a parent? Any good tips for the rest of us?

Responses

  1. […] think it is great to do whatever you think is best for your baby, or whatever it is that keeps the guilt-monster away, but shoving it down other mommies throats is annoying and comes across as more judgment. […]

  2. […] think it is great to do whatever you think is best for your baby, or whatever it is that keeps the guilt-monster away, but constantly highlighting it to other mommies is annoying and comes across as more […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

